International posts

A Rose Is Not a Rose Unless It’s Socialist Red

Posted by on September 16th, 2010 at 3:00 AM

And by ‘red’ I do mean … socialist, that most evil of the worker’s mental revolt! The proletariat victorious. And what better way to relay some propaganda to the masses than inserting it into that most vile of reading habits

Satoshi Kon, 1963-2010

Posted by on September 11th, 2010 at 8:23 PM
Satoshi Kon, one of the most gifted, innovative and searchingly intelligent artists working in the anime medium and the film world at large, died on the morning of August 24 from pancreatic cancer--at the age of 46.

Literary Comics Columns

Posted by on September 9th, 2010 at 5:17 AM

An interesting experiment is taking place at www.deburen.eu (english language version!) who have gotten into the habit of asking comics creators to contribute a column on a literary site. Born out of the tradition of the literary column, the results

Rock Manlyfist – Master of Space Karate

Posted by on September 6th, 2010 at 12:54 PM

For those of you living in Scandinavia, Johan Wanloo is most likely a well-known name. He has been working with all kinds of comics for the last 20 years and has been published almost everywhere. Despite this, there is regrettably

I Hate Paris

Posted by on September 2nd, 2010 at 7:00 PM

Claimed as the first trash graphic novel, I Love Paris by the Belgian duo of writer Peter Moerenhout and writer/artist Maarten Vande Wiele was a huge success and  sold out at stores and comic shops in Belgium. I Hate Paris

Homo Norvegicus

Posted by on September 2nd, 2010 at 12:29 PM

Ever wondered what kind of comics they’re making in Norway?

Who the best  artists are and what kind of stuff they create?

No? Well, anyway, this blog will give you all the answers!

Growing up in a country situated on

At the Metro Comic-Con 2010

Posted by on September 1st, 2010 at 7:07 AM
The Metro Comic-con, which held its second year from August 21 to 22, was only one of at least seven major comic book events happening in the Philippines in recent years. This particular event was geared mostly for fans of Marvel and DC, although there was quite a large contingent of independent Filipino comics makers situated right at the center of the venue.

Sowing the Wind — Nadia Raviscioni’s Vent frais, vent du matin

Posted by on August 28th, 2010 at 4:14 PM
Swiss cartoonist Nadia Raviscioni's Vent Frais, vent du matin (‘Fresh Breeze, Morning Breeze’), may be the first book fully to meet the challenge set by the previous generation of comics autobiographers in terms of ambition, complexity and artistic conviction. Released earlier this year, the book has been more than a decade in the making. It reclaims for Raviscioni—whose precocious juvenilia was released across a handful of publications in the late 90s by Genevan publisher Atrabile—a place at the center of the new generation of alternative cartoonists.

The Italian (and perhaps not only Italian) “struggle” for the term graphic novel

Posted by on August 28th, 2010 at 12:04 PM

Ciao a tutti,

(which means ‘Hello everybody,’ please don’t forget!)

in these years the expression “graphic novel” has entered the comicdoms of about all nations where comics are published.

As recently reminded (also) by David Hajdu in his beautiful book

Readers, Get Your Quality Comic Coupons Right Here!

Posted by on August 27th, 2010 at 1:00 AM

Proof that the graphic novel exceeds all boundaries can be found in an annual initiative by one of the more popular news magazines in Belgium entitled HUMO.  As one season ends, another begins and more specifically the bookseason in

4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13