Philippines posts

At the Metro Comic-Con 2010

Posted by on September 1st, 2010 at 7:07 AM

The Metro Comic-con, which held its second year from August 21 to 22, was only one of at least seven major comic book events happening in the Philippines in recent years. This particular event was geared mostly for fans of Marvel and DC, although there was quite a large contingent of independent Filipino comics makers situated right at the center of the venue.

The State of Comics Preservation in the Philippines

Posted by on August 2nd, 2010 at 8:10 PM

Up until 2004, a tradition of preserving, archiving and collecting classic Philippine comics never existed. The few Filipinos of the current generation who were aware of the old classic comics from the 1940s to the 1970s can only look upon in envy at the hundreds upon hundreds of trade paperbacks, hardbacks, Absolute editions, and Omnibus collections coming out of America that effectively gave the world an easily accessible archive to decades of American comic books.

Philippine Comics in July 19, 2010: A Snapshot

Posted by on July 27th, 2010 at 12:01 AM

The Philippines once boasted of a gigantic comic book industry that saw no less than a hundred new issues a month released across several publishing companies. The most successful titles sold no less than 100,000 copies per issue, coming out on a weekly basis. It was a tremendous industry, which gave hundreds of writers and artists employment, and millions of Filipinos entertainment.

Komikon Report

Posted by on July 16th, 2010 at 3:46 PM

A review of recent Philippine independently produced titles.