2010 Stanley Award winners

Posted by on November 7th, 2010 at 3:01 PM

Australian cartoonists met in Melbourne Saturday night, November 6, for the 26th Annual Stanley Awards to honour David Pope of the Canberra Times as Cartoonist of the Year. Held at Rydges Melbourne, other awards went to David Rowe of the Australian Financial Review for Caricaturist, Matt Golding for Single Gag Cartoonist, Graphic Media Artist went to Geoff Richardson from the Sydney Morning Herald and the award for Comic Strip Artist was awarded to Tony Lopes for Insanity Streak.

The Stanley in the Illustrator category was claimed by the uber-talented Anton Emdin, while Herald Sun editorial cartoonist Mark Knight bagged the gong for Editorial/Political Cartoonist.

The Australian Cartoonists Association was also proud to recognise outstanding contribution to Australian cartooning with the Jim Russell Award. This year, tireless supporter of the ACA (for 20 years) and former President Steve Panozzo was honoured. Clearly emotional, Panozzo proudly accepted the award, thanking his supportive parents who appeared via a video message to congratulate him. He also thanked the ACA, stating that he believed the organisation to be one desperately important to the Australian media.

This year also saw the introduction of a new Stanley for Comic Book Artist which was presented to UK-based cartoonist Dave Gaskill by Archie and Marvel Comics legend, Stan Goldberg.

Be Sociable, Share!

Comments are closed.