Journalista for April 21, 2010: It gets old

Posted by on April 21st, 2010 at 2:29 AM

 

 

“It gets old. At some point, you’ve got to have some kind of a release for all the misery and pain. I’ve read that Ian Sattler and Dan Didio have been saying that Cry For Justice ‘worked’ because people are upset about the book. And well, no, it didn’t work. People are mad at the book and what happened in it, but not because it’s sad. They’re mad because it’s just another body on the pile.”

 

Contact me: dirk@tcj.com
¡Journalista! Homepage ♦ RSS Feed
¡Journalista! 2.0 Archives ♦ ¡Journalista! 1.0 Archives

 


From Sock Monkey Vol. 3 #2, ©2000 Tony Millionaire.

 

Recently posted to our homepage:

  • Robert Stanley Martin reviews Peter Bagge’s Other Lives.
  •  

  • Over at The Hooded Utilitarian, Ng Suat Tong explains how Tony Millionaire brought back that sense of astonishment.
  •  

  • TCJ contributors elsewhere: Bob Levin reviews the prose novel Sitting Shiva for Myself by Renee Blitz.

And in the news…

 

Above the Fold

 

Life in interesting times

  • Anime News Network reports that attempts to enact Tokyo’s anti-lolicon legislation have been delayed at least until Fall.
  •  

  • “Upset over Bluewater’s Female Empowerment comic featuring talk show host Ellen Degeneres, who is donating her proceeds from the comic to the American Humane Society, the U.S. Sportsmen Association has begun a campaign of harassment aimed at getting Bluewater to withdraw the comic.”

 

Format WarsTM potpourri… stuff!

  • Our long national nightmare is over at last: Apple has approved the Mark Fiore cartoon app.
  •  

  • “Amazon.com filed a lawsuit on Monday to fend off a sweeping demand from North Carolina’s tax collectors: detailed records including names and addresses of customers and information about exactly what they purchased.”
  •  

  • Google’s Eric Schmidt recently discussed the Google Tablet, which he expected would cost between $300-$400 and rely heavily on cloud-based data storage. Doug Aamoth has the details.
  •  

  • Chris Arrant talks digital comics with with Tor.com Web producer Pablo Defendini.
  •  

  • Wade Roush discusses how digital devices might transform digital publishing, shrugs shoulders, says “I dunno.”
  •  

  • Jeremy Caplan discusses online payments with Venmo co-founder Andrew Kortina.

 

Joe McCulloch: New this week

A look at the best-sounding books scheduled to hit the comics shops tomorrow.

 

 

¡Journalista! continues after this commercial message.
Graphic NYC

 

Profiles

 

  • Mike Russell on Paul Pope


    Detail from Pope’s cover to Solo #3, ©2005 DC Comics.

    A long interview with the avant-pop cartoonist.

 

  • Grace Kim on Henry Martin

    “Few artists make it to the New Yorker, but Henry Martin […] did nearly one better and started his career there.”

 

Also

 

Reviews

 

  • Kristy Valenti on The Baby-Sitters Club

    “[Raina] Telgemeier’s ligne claire drawing style is minimalist, which has the effect of foregrounding the characters and plot, making the medium almost transparent, and is also desexualized, which matches the wholesome yet not cloying tone of the books.”

 

  • Sean T. Collins on Young Lions

    “Now here’s an interesting combination: A fairly straightforward ‘aimless young smart people’ graphic novella in the vein of Adrian Tomine or Ghost World-era Dan Clowes, drawn in the wispy, dreamlike style of C.F. Larmee’s take on the CF ‘tradition’ foregrounds its frequent warm beauty rather than its fetishistic cold transgression. It pushes back the Henry Darger and pulls forward the Nell Brinkley, if you will.”

 

Also

 

Commentary

 

  • Curt Purcell: Can comics be scary?

    A number of commentators offer their answers.

 

  • Marc Singer: Teaching Jimmy Corrigan

    “Teaching Jimmy Corrigan, The Smartest Kid on Earth for my class was a welcome reminder that I can really enjoy [Chris] Ware when he’s producing his own work instead of curating his tired canon of alternative comics.”

 

Comics and Art

 

  • Doug Wheeler: A few suggested alternate methods for crossing the Atlantic


    From Barker’s 1903 Illustrated Almanac.

    “The following woodcut cartoons are the work of artist R.A. Williams, and were published by the Barker, Moore & Mein Medicine Company, of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, as humorous advertising, collected in their annual Barker’s Illustrated Almanac (running from 1879 to at least 1932), and in their premium booklets Barker’s ‘Komic’ Picture Souvenir (issued from 1892 into the early 1900s). “

 

Also

 

Multimedia

 

  • YouTube: Al Hirschfeld draws

    The legendary Broadway caricaturist produces an illustration, and you get to watch.

    (Link via Mike Lynch.)

 

Comics Culture

 

  • Announcement: Online voting for Eisner Awards now open

    Click, click.

 

 

Events Calendar

 

Today:

 

  • April 21 (New York City, NY): Manga creator Akino Kondoh will give an artist’s talk at the Center for Book Arts on 27th Street, beginning at 6:30PM. Details here.
  • April 21 (London, England): Anita O’Brien discusses the work of Ronald Searle at the Cartoon Museum on Little Russell Street, from 6:30-7:30PM. Details here.
  • April 21 (Cambridge, MA?): Dash Shaw will discuss his work with Paul Karasik at the Harvard Book Store on Massachusetts Avenue, beginning at 7PM. Details here.
  •  

    This Week:

     

    • April 22-25 (Hatfield, England): The UniComics Festival will be taking place at the University of Hertfordshire on College Lane. Details here.
    • April 22 (Portland, OR): Tom Neely and Aron Nels Steinke will read from their work at Herbivore on Stark Street, beginning at 7PM. Details here.
    • April 22 (Portland, OR): Market Day author James Sturm will appear at Powell’s Book on Hawthorne Boulevard, beginning at 7:30PM. Details here.
    • April 23-25 (Stockholm, Sweden): The Swedish Small Press Expo takes place at Kulturhuset on Sergels. Details here.
    • April 23 (Toronto, Ontario): Kill Shakespeare creators Connor McCreery, Anthony Del Col, Andy Belanger and Kagan McLeod will be signing comics and meeting readers at The Beguiling on Markham Street, from 5-7PM. Details here.
    • April 23 (Portland, OR): Kick off Stumptown weekend with a party at Guapo Comics and Books on Foster Road, beginning at 7PM. Details here.
    • April 24-25 (Portland, OR): The Stumptown Comics Fest happens at the Lloyd Center Doubletree Hotel on Multinomah Street. Details here.
    • April 24-25 (Columbus, OH): SPACE — the Small Press and Alternative Comics Expo — sets up shop at the Ramada Plaza Hotel and Conference Center on Sinclair Road. Details here.
    • April 25 (Albany, NY): The Albany Comic Con takes place at the Holiday Inn on Wolf Road, from 10AM-4PM. Details here.
    • April 25 (Baltimore, MD): Kim Deitch will be signing books and meeting readers at the Barnes & Noble Johns Hopkins Bookstore on Paul Street, from 4-6PM. Details here.

     

    Want to see your comics-related event listed here? Email a link to dirk@tcj.com and let me know. Please include an online link to which I can send people for more information. No sales-only events, please — it’s nice that you’ve marked things down at your store or website, but I won’t be listing it here.

     

    Be Sociable, Share!

    Tags: ,

    Comments are closed.